Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament Set to Showcase the Best of Women’s Cricket in Karachi


Karachi, the City of Lights, is gearing up to host Pakistan’s finest women cricketers in the highly anticipated Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament 2022-23, starting from Friday, 19 May. This tournament aims to provide these talented cricketers with ample opportunities to showcase their skills and will feature two iterations. The first phase will consist of four teams competing in T20 matches, while the second phase will witness three teams battling it out in one-day matches, culminating in a thrilling final on 4 June.The initial phase of the tournament will serve as a platform for the probables of the ACC Women’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup, scheduled to take place in Hong Kong in June. These aspiring players, representing the Strikers team, will have the chance to hone their skills and gain valuable match practice in challenging conditions. Pakistan’s renowned fast bowler, will captain the Strikers team.

The remaining three teams competing in the tournament are the Blasters, led by Muneeba Ali, the only Pakistani batter to score a century in T20Is; the Challengers, captained by left-arm orthodox Sadia Iqbal; and the Dynamites, skippered by right-handed top-order batter Sidra Amin.The six T20 matches will be held from 19 to 21 May at the Hanif Mohammad High Performance Centre Oval Ground and State Bank Ground, promising exciting cricketing action.From 23 May onwards, the Blasters, Challengers, and Dynamites will shift their focus to the 50-over format. These teams will face each other twice, and the top two teams will battle it out in the final at the State Bank Ground, with the match being live-streamed on the PCB YouTube channel.

As part of the Pakistan Cricket Board’s commitment to recognizing outstanding performances, the winning team will receive a prize of PKR 1 million, while the runners-up will be awarded PKR 500,000. Additionally, individual match winners will receive PKR 20,000, and the player of the tournament will be honored with PKR 50,000.Tania Mallick, Head of Women’s Cricket, shared the tournament’s philosophy, stating, “I am thrilled to announce the upcoming Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament in Karachi. This is a fantastic opportunity for our talented women cricketers to showcase their skills and compete against each other. We have planned the tournament in two phases to offer a diverse range of formats and challenges to the players.”Mallick expressed confidence that the second phase, featuring the one-day format, would deliver high-quality cricket and exhilarating competition among the teams.The squads for the Pakistan Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament have been finalized, with each team comprising a talented roster of players and supported by experienced coaching and management staff.

The Blasters squad includes Muneeba Ali (captain), Aleena Shah, Anam Amin, Asma Amin, Ayesha Bilal, Ayesha Javed, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Fajar Naveed, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Saba Nazir, Saiqa Riaz, Zaib-un-Nisa, and Zunera Shah.Sadia Iqbal (captain) will lead the Challengers, with players such as Aima Saleem, Amber Kainat, Areesha Noor, Fareeha Mehmood, Fatima Zehra, Huraina Sajjad, Javeria Khan, Javeria Rauf, Kaynat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Masooma Z

Share post:



More like this

Meet the Remarkable Women Empowered by DANA and Ant Group’s SisBerdaya Program

SisBerdaya, a DANA and Ant Group local project aiming...

Norma Hunt, Wife of Chiefs founder Lamar Hunt Passes Away at 85

Norma Hunt, the beloved wife of the late Chiefs...