PCB Hints at Introducing a Women PSL Tournament

Photo by Kevin Mueller on Unsplash

The Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board Ramiz Raja disclosed that the Board is planning to introduce the PSL tournament for Women cricket players. If PCB successfully executes its launch of a women PSL tournament, the board grows to the first cricket board in Asia to begin a full-fledged franchise-based T20 league for women.

Presently, the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is a professional franchise-based T20 league for men where six teams from six cities in the nation take part in the tournament. The Pakistan cricket board launched the PSL in 2016. The PSL team includes Peshawar Zalmi, Lahore Qalandars, Karachi Kings, Multan Sultan, Islamabad United, and Quetta Gladiators.

Raja made this new announcement in a video, where he also disclosed that the board is intending to introduce an Under-19 men’s edition of the PSL. In a video, he said: “I also have the women’s PSL in my mind. We’ll grow to the first cricket board in Asia to start that.” Presently, the only women’s cricket competition in Asia is the franchise-style Women’s T20 Challenge that the Indian cricket board has organized together with the men’s Indian Premier League (IPL) playoffs.

Furthermore, Australia organized the Women’s Big Bash League as its domestic T20 league, while England organized the first ‘The Hundred’ tournament for females this year besides the men’s tournament. Moreover, the Women’s T20 Challenge includes three teams in its 2020 edition and was not organized this year.